Wisconsin Legal Age Of Consent (Legal Age for Consensual Sex)
What is the 2015 Age of Consent in Wisconsin?
The Wisconsin legal Age of Consent for sexual contact is 18 years old. There are a total of eleven states have set their age of consent at 18 years old, the highest legal age of consent in any state.
Intercourse with a minor under 16 is a Class C felony, and intercourse with a 16-year-old minor is a Class A misdemeanor
Wisconsin has no Close-in-age Exemption
There are no set close-in-age exemptions or "Romeo and Juliet laws" to Wisconsin's age of consent. This means that anyone who engages in sexual activity with someone under the age of consent in Wisconsin is liable for prosecution, including people only a few years older then their sexual partner and even two individuals who are both under the age of consent.
What is the Age of Consent?
The Age of Consent is the age at which a person is deemed by Wisconsin law to be capable of consenting to, and engaging in, sexual acts. Anyone who engages in sexual activity of any type with a partner under the applicable Age of Consent is breaking the law and can be charged with crimes ranging from a misdemeanor to a felony (statutory rape) depending on the jurisdiction in which they are prosecuted. Wisconsin's specific laws on the Age of Consent can be found above.
What happens if I violate the Wisconsin Age of Consent?
If you engage in sexual activity with a minor who is under the Wisconsin Age of Consent of 18, you can be prosecuted under Wisconsin sexual abuse laws and charged with crimes ranging from sexual assault to first degree rape, regardless of whether or not the sexual acts were consensual. Depending on the charges, conviction can carry penalties ranging from one to fifty years in prison and registration as a sex offender .
What happens if I travel to a state where the Age of Consent is lower?
In most states, the travel or transportation of a minor over state lines with the intention of engaging in sexual activity is in itself a severe misdemeanor or felony. As a result, it is generally not possible to evade a state's age of consent rules by travelling to a different state.
Need more information? Find data on the age of consent in other states.